Kieran Mahon was the biggest winner as the Guernsey midfielder scored a double at the club’s end-of-season awards dinner on Sunday night.

Mahon picked up the coveted prizes of Players’ Player of the Year, as voted by his teammates, and was selected by Tony Vance, Steve Sharman and Colin Fallaize as Coaches’ Player of the Year.

It caps off a fantastic season for Mahon, who is arguably playing the best football of his career and was certainly missed when not available.

The midfielder was often given a more advanced role this season, leading the team’s energy and press, and bagged a career-high three goals in 25 games to take his club total to nine. He also added his name to the list of those players who have made 150 appearances for the Green Lions.

Club captain Jamie Dodd handed over the prize, hailing his teammates as a “real leader” within the group.

Mahon himself was delighted with his accolades, particularly pleased to have managed to stay fit for the whole season having had campaigns disrupted by injury in the past.

GFC’s first prizegiving event since 2019 saw players, coaches, club volunteers and fans pack into St Pierre Park to mark the end of a tough season that finally saw the Green Lions return to competitive action after more than a season.

There was also a double for Ross Allen, who was awarded the Manelanders’ Player-of-the-Year trophy in addition to his golden boot as top scorer with 19 goals.

Bristol City-bound Ben Acey was named Young Player of the Year after a brilliant debut season in senior football, and his first goal against Staines Town in December was voted for on the night as Goal of the Season.

GFC supporters voted for Jacob Fallaize as Fans’ Player of the Year. He returned from College in the US in January to bolster the defence and make 23 appearances, scoring twice.

GFC Chief Steward Steve Mahy was the deserved winner of the Mark Le Tissier trophy for Outstanding Contribution to the Club. He dedicated his win to his fellow stewards, without whom he said he wouldn’t be able to perform his role.

The first award of the night, the Community Star Award, was presented to Saj Rahman, who has joined the GFCTV commentary team this year and has really embraced the club.

Ernie’s Champagne Moment Award was given to his commentary counterpart Harry Jones for his enthusiastic reaction to Tim Ap Sion’s debut goal against Chipstead in April.